Alan Devonshire made three changes to the side that narrowly lost to Boreham Wood on Saturday with Lewis Kinsella, Casey Pettit and Zico Asare replacing Sam Beckwith, Kevin Lokko and Harry Parsons. 
The hosts started the game the better of the two having the majority of the possession, the first chance of the match came to Harry Cardwell whose strike from distance didn’t trouble Maidenhead keeper Craig Ross. 
Southend continued to pile on the pressure after Dan Mooney’s speculative cross almost caught out Ross who managed to tip his delivery wide. 
The game was temporarily delayed in the first half due to objects being thrown onto the pitch. 
The Shrimpers continued to control the game following the restart and almost punished Maidenhead during the six additional minutes as Cardwell’s looping header skimmed the crossbar. 
Half-time: Southend United 0-0 Maidenhead United 
Despite not creating any chances, half-time substitute Tobi Sho-Silva helped the Magpies see more of the ball in the early stages of the second half. 
Mooney forced Ross into another fantastic save just before the hour mark, his curling effort from distance was well parried to keep the game level. 
The hosts continued to control possession as the second half progressed, Maidenhead continued to defend well with last ditch clearances from both Zico Asare and Will De Havilland on separate occasions. 
Maidenhead’s first effort of the game fell to Pettit after he received the ball on the edge of the box from Sho-Silva, his strike didn’t trouble Southend keeper David Martin. 
Southend were awarded a penalty after Jack Wood was fouled in the box by De Havilland. Jack Bridge converted to give the hosts a deserved lead. 
The Shrimpers put the result beyond doubt in stoppage time through Wesley Fonguck, the forward weaved past two defenders before curling the ball into the bottom corner. 
Full-time: Southend United 2-0 Maidenhead United 
Southend United – David Martin, Ollie Kensdale, Jack Bridge, Noor Husin, Harry Cardwell, Dan Mooney (Vilhete 88’), Jack Wood (Powell 92’), Cav Miley ©, Wesley Fonguck, Jason Demetriou, Oli Coker 
Maidenhead United – Craig Ross, Zico Asare, Will De Havilland, Jayden Mitchell-Lawson (Omilabu 67’), Ashley Nathaniel-George, Kane Ferdinand ©, Casey Pettit (Parsons 72’), Remy Clerima, Chanka Zimba (Sho-Silva 46’), Charlee Adams, Lewis Kinsella 
Tagged as: Club, Men
Share this post:

Leave a comment: 

Our site uses cookies. For more information, see our cookie policy. Accept cookies and close
Reject cookies Manage settings